Apple updates App Store prices in four countries, adds low price tier for India

South Africa, South Korea and Turkey prep for price hike

Apple updates App Store prices in four countries, adds low price tier for India

Four countries have been singled out by Apple to receive App Store price hikes.

Mexico, South Africa, South Korea and Turkey’s App Stores will all see their prices increase during the next 36 hours, according to an email sent out by the iTunes Connect team.

A bigger bite of the Apple

Changes like this are not uncommon as shifts in taxes or foreign exchange rates often trigger pricing updates.

For South Korea, however, the new prices incur a VAT of 10 percent onto existing app costs – though Apple says it will pay the VAT for developers based outside of the country.

Elsewhere, customers with auto-renewable subscriptions on the South African, South Korean and Turkish App Stores will be notified by email that they need to resubscribe. However Mexican services will carry on as normal.

Meanwhile two new low-price tiers will be added to the four countries’ App Stores - as well as India, Indonesia and Russia.

With the snazzy names of “Alternate Tier A” and “Alternate Tier B,” the two new low price tiers are available to view in Apple’s updated price matrix.

News Editor


1 comment
View options
  • Order by latest to oldest
  • Order by oldest to latest
  • Show all replies
Casey loly client assistent manager at Appd Mobile
I'm really surprised how many great mobile app companies are loceted in India. Good job.
Here also a list of ukrainian companies which also are making great mobile application.
Maybe you already know some of them.