European Esports Federation set to be formed with 12 countries

European Esports Federation set to be formed with 12 countries

A European Esports Federation will be formed after 12 representatives from different nations met in Berlin to discuss the initiative.

As reported by The Esports Observer, the “Berlin Declaration” was mutually supported by all attendees, with the document stating that the planned non-profit organisation will be completely independent of any third-party or private entity.

From this, any competition held by the planned federation will be overseen by the group as a moderating partner but not as a governing body.

The founding 12 members of the Esports Federation include representatives from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Russia, Slovenia, Serbia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine and the UK.

Official signing in May

Each member will be holding general meetings to consider the proposal before the official signing of the declaration is made. The next meeting of the federation will be held in Lausanne, Switzerland on May 28th.

Interest in esports has continuously been on the rise globally. Indian esports platform Mobile Premier League recently raised $35.5 million in Series A investment while esports organiser Gen.G raised $46 million from funding.

Find out more about competitive gaming on the Esports Academy track at Pocket Gamer Connects Seattle, which takes place on May 13th to 14th.

Staff Writer

Matthew Forde is a freelance writer from Yorkshire, who's work has been published for Tech Radar, Nintendo Life, Kotaku UK and more. He regularly attends Smash Bros. tournaments, while trying to keep up-to-date on everything pop culture related - particularly superheroes. You can find him on Twitter @Forde999.


No comments
View options
  • Order by latest to oldest
  • Order by oldest to latest
  • Show all replies