Home   >   News

Space Ape Games, inkle, Genshin Impact, Kwalee, and more celebrated at the Mobile Games Awards 2022

Space Ape’s Beatstar – Touch Your Music wins coveted Game of the Year, as we celebrate the mobile games industry with 23 categories
Space Ape Games, inkle, Genshin Impact, Kwalee, and more celebrated at the Mobile Games Awards 2022
Stay Informed
Get Industry News In Your Inbox…
Sign Up Today

Held at London’s BAFTA in Piccadilly, the Mobile Games Awards 2022 celebrated the greatest accomplishments and people of the mobile games industry, with perhaps the most coveted award, Game of the Year, going to Space Ape Games’ Beatstar – Touch the Music.

For the most part, there were few repeat winners in 2022, compared to 2021, although Genshin Impact was awarded Best Audio/Visual Accomplishment for a second year. Subway Surfers ended the evening with Best Live Ops, and the Best Storytelling award went to two titles: Alien: Isolation and The Oregon Trail.

Best Publisher went to Kwalee, Best Developer was inkle, and the Pocket Gamer People’s Choice – nominated and voted for by the readers of – was won by Cookie Run: Kingdom.

Industry accolades

It’s not just the games that are celebrated at the Mobile Games Awards but also the technical elements and essential people that create the games. Another outlier to a suite of first-time winners, Best Game Engine went to Unity for a fifth year running, while Best Tools Provider was Amazon Web Services Game Tech, and Best Challenger App Store went to the Samsung Galaxy Store.

Niantic’s Karla Reyes (also a damn fine DJ) and ustwo games’ Daniel Grey also received the Rising Star and Mobile Legend award, respectively, and the Best Innovation went to two winners: GameForest.Club and Playing for the Planet's Green Game Jam: two extremely deserving winners at a time of heightened environmental peril.

Select 2022 Mobile Games Awards categories were sponsored by AudioMob, KwaleeEnthusiast Gaming, and Tilting Point, and we would like to express our sincerest thanks to everyone who took the time to submit and vote for their colleagues, themselves, companies, and contemporaries, and everyone who attended the ceremony.

You can find a full list of winners and finalists through this link.