Home   >   News

BAFTA Games Awards 2017 now open for entry

Event to be held on April 7th
BAFTA Games Awards 2017 now open for entry

Nominations for the the BAFTA Games Awards have opened for entries.

The event returns once again on April 7th 2017. The awards ceremony will honour games released between January 1st and December 31st 2016.

There are 15 categories for entry:

  • Artistic Achievement
  • Audio Achievement
  • Best Game
  • British Game
  • Debut Game
  • Evolving Game
  • Family
  • Game Design
  • Game Innovation
  • Mobile Game
  • Multiplayer
  • Music
  • Narrative
  • Original Property
  • Performer

For those in the mobile games industry particularly, there are a couple of changes worth noting in these categories.

Firstly, the games-as-a-service category has been renamed from 2016's 'Persistent Game' to the more dynamic-sounding 'Evolving Game'.

And more significantly, although it still includes Nintendo 3DS and PlayStation Vita games, all mention of handheld has been removed for the newly-named 'Mobile Game' category.

The deadline for entries is December 8th 2016, with a later deadline of December 19th offered only to those games released between December 17th and 31st.

In the 2016 event, FMV whodunnit Her Story cleaned up with wins in Debut Game, Game Innovation, and Mobile & Handheld Game categories.

For full guidelines on eligibility and how to enter, you can visit the BAFTA website.