Menu PocketGamer.biz
Search
Home   >   News

Zenless Zone Zero to launch globally with DOUBLE Honkai: Star Rail’s pre-registrations

The game finally lands across the world today and tomorrow and we've got the latest launch figures and exactly WHEN it'll hit your timezone
Zenless Zone Zero to launch globally with DOUBLE Honkai: Star Rail’s pre-registrations
  • Zenless Zone Zero is scheduled to launch on July 4th
  • The title has reached over 45 million pre-registrations

HoYoverse’s Zenless Zone Zero, the developer's next game following the huge successes of Genshin Impact and Honkai: Star Rail, hits global app stores across Wednesday July 3rd and Thursday July 4th depending on your location.

And it would appear that the world is waiting as the upcoming action RPG has officially surpassed an unprecedented 45 million pre-registrations.

The figure caps off huge hype for the gacha giant. Putting that number into perspective, HoYoverse’s flagship Genshin Impact saw 10 million people pre-register while Honkai: Star Rail reached 23 million. The last game on such a scale, Supercell's Squad Busters just came in with 40 million on launch day, meaning that Zenless Zone Zero is top of the tree for pre-registrations and in a great place to do great business from day one.

Even more zen

Zenless Zone Zero takes a similar artistic approach to its anime-like forebears but the setting is more "urban fantasy". Gameplay varies significantly from Genshin Impact and Honkai: Star Rail, focused around the city New Eridu with more emphasis on story and side quests.

There will still be a variety of locations in-game through the power of alternate universes.

With an official release slated for July 4th, Zenless Zone Zero has now advanced beyond pre-registrations and offers eager Proxies the chance to pre-download the game from July 2nd.

The game is a 26GB download on iOS and 20GB on Android, making it slightly smaller than Honkai: Star Rail was at launch. The PC version of Zenless Zone Zero is 57GB, with cross-progression confirmed between platforms.

"Pre-download Zenless Zone Zero Now! Zenless Zone Zero's pre-download has officially begun! The official release will be available on PC, Android, iOS, and PlayStation5," the team posted on Twitter on July 2nd.

"Zenless Zone Zero Version 1.0, 'Welcome to New Eridu,' will go live across multiple platforms on July 4, 2024, at 10:00 AM (UTC+8)."

Those timezones in full

The US can enjoy the game from the evening of Wednesday July 3rd:

  • PT: 7:00 pm
  • CT: 9:00 pm
  • ET: 10:00 pm

With those times converting to Thursday July 4th for the rest of the globe:

  • BST: 3:00 am
  • CEST: 4:00 am
  • IST: 7:30 am
  • CST: 10:00 am
  • JST: 11:00 am
  • AEST: 12:00 pm
  • NZST: 2:00 pm

With such high pre-registration figures achieved, HoYoverse looks more than set to break the industry record for day-one downloads - a record it already holds thanks to Honkai: Star Rail.

Right now, we stand on the precipice of discovering just what that new record might be. We'll keep you posted.