Indie games clean up at Apple Design Awards 2017

Blackbox, Mushroom 11 and Severed among the winners

Indie games clean up at Apple Design Awards 2017

Five indie games have received Apple Design Awards for 2017.

This is out of a total of 12 apps honoured with Apple's yearly award for best-in-class design on its platforms, showing yet again the Cupertino firm's keenness to celebrate innovative games.

The games that received an Apple Design Award were:

  • Blackbox by Ryan McLeod
  • Splitter Critters by RAC7 Games
  • Mushroom 11 by Untame
  • Old Man's Journey by Broken Rules
  • Severed by Drinkbox Studios

Independently-developed games have always been well represented at the awards, with previous winners including Monument Valley, DEVICE 6 and Threes.

More recently, Apple has given indie games their own section on the App Store, and is set to introduce a whole new tab for games when the App Store is overhauled as part of iOS 11.

You can see the full list of Apple Design Award winners for 2017 here.

Features Editor

Matt is really bad at playing games, but hopefully a little better at writing about them. He's Features Editor for, and has also written for lesser publications such as IGN, VICE, and Paste Magazine.